The Center for Brooklyn History provides this guide for those researching the history of Indigenous peoples in and around Brooklyn. In addition to these materials, researchers are encouraged to browse the collections and research guides for resources that may be relevant to their work. While this guide uses the keywords “Indigenous peoples” to refer to a diverse group of communities native to North America, searching historical resources may require using a variety of terms, including: "Lenape," "Canarsee" or "Canarsie," "Munsee," "Iroquois," "Kahnawake," "Shinnecock, "Native American," "Indian" and "Aboriginal." Additionally, if you’re searching for one particular community, you might search online first for spelling variations. There are, for example, seventeen known European variations of Kahnawake, with Caughnawaga being one of the most common in our collections. To create an appointment or ask a question, please contact cbhreference@bklynlibrary.org.
This guide includes materials ranging from the mid-1600s through the mid-20th century. Most materials concern the four Long Island counties (Kings, Queens, Nassau, and Suffolk), but places farther afield are also occasionally represented, including New York State, the South, the American West and Mexico. Documents commonly found in this guide from the 17th-18th century include land transfers as well as first-hand accounts of Indigenous life from a Dutch or British perspective. Materials from the 19th century on are more varied, including such items as Documents and Proceedings Relating to the Formation and Progress of a Board in the City of New York, for the Emigration, Preservation, and Improvement, of the Aborigines of America from 1829 and a map purporting to show "Indian Villages, Paths, Ponds, and Places in Kings County" from 1946.
The materials in these collections are primarily from the perspective of European Americans, and cover their attitude toward and relations with the Indigenous peoples of Long Island and the surrounding area. Resources from the perspective of Indigenous peoples, or that reliably document what Brooklyn was like pre-contact, are exceedingly rare.
Please note: We encourage our patrons doing research on Indigenous cultures to contact the relevant communities of their research. The National Congress of American Indians provides a list of publications and resources to help researchers understand tribal concerns and the ethics of researching Indigenous peoples. Additionally, Native Land Digital is an app to help map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages.
Archival Collections
American Indians and English settlers Gravesend deed, 1665
Call number: 1977.594
0.01 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Photocopy of a typescript deed documenting the sale of land in the present-day Brooklyn neighborhood of Gravesend by the Indigenous inhabitants of the region to incoming English settlers.
Andrew J. Provost collection of Bushwick, N.Y., family papers, 1709-1859
Call number: 1977.180
1.6 linear foot.
Link to finding aid.
Both originals and copies of deeds and wills—including a copy of a patent from Lt. Governor Thomas Dongan, dated 1687—that mention Indigenous peoples.
Ariadne Valsamis notes on Montauk history, circa 1980
Call number: 1985.090
0.01 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
The collection contains handwritten notes taken while Ariadne Valsamis was performing research for the Center for Brooklyn History's library team. Topics covered include the Montauk people of Long Island as well as Arthur W. Benson, who was taken to court by the Montauks in an attempt to retain tribal lands that he purchased.
Autograph Manuscript collection, 1700-1945
Call number: ARC.206
1.5 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Contains four items pertaining to this guide: an 1803 letter concerning “Indian Nations,” a 1770 order provisioning “this Cherokee Indian” with clothing, an 1846 letter about promoting “the preservation & future well-being of the remnants of the Aboriginal race,” and an 1846 letter from about land treaties.
Brooklyn Armstrong Association and Brooklyn Hampton Association records, 1906-1943
Call number: 1981.001
0.33 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
The Brooklyn Armstrong Association was formed in 1906 with the aim “to stimulate public interest in the work and influence of the Hampton Normal and Agricultural Institute and generally in the uplifting of the Negro and Indian races.” The organization provided education for a large number of African American students and a smaller number of Indigenous students (approximately 46 in 1912).
Brooklyn Historical Society Mixed manuscript collection, 1626-1957
Call number: 1974.037
1 linear foot.
Link to finding aid.
Includes two relevant items: a 1626 letter, in Dutch, from P. Schagen to the States General of the Dutch Republic about the purchase of Manhattan, and petitions, in Spanish, from 1688 of the Apalachian and Timuquan people of Florida.
Charles A. Ditmas collection, 1687-circa 1935
Call number: ARC.196
0.42 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Includes the “Barren Island Indian deed,” a typescript transcription copied from the original (dated 1664 and 1681) by Ditmas in 1909. The deed documents an agreement between Indigenous peoples and John Tilton Senil and Sammeull Spicer of Gravesend. Barren Island is currently known as Floyd Bennett Field.
Daniel M. Tredwell papers, 1876-1917
Call number: ARC. 088
1.5 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes essays, histories and general “reminiscences” of Daniel M. Tredwell, including several pages on the history of Indigenous peoples in Brooklyn as well as 19th century folklore about them.
East Hampton land patent, 1686
Call number: 1973.160
0.2 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
One land patent for the Town of East Hampton in Long Island, N.Y., which documents the sale of lands originally purchased from the Montaukett tribe.
Flatlands land patents, 1667
Call number: 1974.016
1.5 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Two patents issued by Governor Richard Nicolls and Lt. Governor Thomas Dongan for the Town of Amersfort (Flatlands) (1667) which mention earlier deeds from Peter Stuyvesant (1652 and 1662) and Indigenous peoples (1685).
Gabriel Furman papers, 1725-1913
Call number: ARC.190
2.8 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Includes both a manuscript and a published version of Furman’s “Notes, Geographical and Historical, Relating to the Town of Brooklyn, on Long-Island,” which includes Indigenous peoples’ place names and some property information, particularly on pages 5-6 and 15-21. Also includes a transcription of Jeremiah Johnson’s translation of “Vanderdonck’s New Netherlands,” a pamphlet published in Amsterdam in 1656 that mentions Indigenous people, particularly on pages 6-8 and 17.
G. Naphegyi lecture transcription, circa 1865
Call number: 1977.663
0.01 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
A transcription of “Languages of the Aborigines of the American Continent,” an 1865 lecture presented by Dr. G. Naphegyi at the Long Island Historical Society (now known as the Center for Brooklyn History).
Henry H. Van Dyck papers, 1840-1869
Call number: ARC.106
2 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Correspondence between Van Dyck and Harrison Halftoran, agent and clerk of the Seneca Nation respectively. Letters discuss petitions for clothing, land warrants and other matters pertaining to the Cattaraugus and Allegheny Reservations.
Henry and John Laurens papers
Call number: 1974.119
0.82 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Correspondence of Henry Laurens on civil matters in the Southern states includes commentary on Indigenous peoples. Check correspondence index in box two for detailed information.
Henry C. Murphy collection, circa 1700-circa 1880
Call number: ARC.189
1.25 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Murphy was a lawyer, politician and historian, and this collection includes his research notes, political and business documents, and correspondence. His notes on (and copies of) documents related to colonial history include descriptions of Canadian colonial history and general colonial history. The Dutch New Netherlands and West India Co. records include correspondence, and deeds and accounts that relate to Indigenous affairs. The “Commonplace Book of Lighter Selections” (1831) includes descriptions of Indigenous customs in 17th century New York.
Henry Onderdonk papers, 1729-1895
Call number: ARC.045
1.75 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Onderdonk (1804-1886) was a historian, teacher and author in Queens County, Long Island, who focused his research on local history. Series 2, Correspondence, mentions Indigenous people throughout, especially letters relating to William Apess, Edwin Webb and Edmund Bailey O’Callaghan.
Henry Townsend Oyster Bay Land Deed, 1661
Call number: 1974.050
0.01 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Original land deed, dated 1661, granting land on the Mill River in Oyster Bay, Long Island to Henry Townsend, signed by eighteen Oyster Bay inhabitants. See also Townsend papers, 1974.021.
Landon Family papers, 1665-1864
Call number: 1977.025
2.5 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Included in Series 4 of this collection is a journal of the 1792 proceedings concerning a treaty with Indigenous people at Post Vincennes, Indiana, conducted by Brigadier General Rufus Putnam.
Long Island Early Manuscripts Collection
Call Number: 1974.003
0.30 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Includes two folders of significance to this guide: Folder 5 contains several 17th century land records pertaining to Indigenous peoples, such as gifts of land and complaints; Folder 14 contains a 1756 receipt of payment to Indigenous people.
Mid-Atlantic Early Manuscripts collection, 1648-1867
Call number: 1974.002
0.25 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes several documents relevant to this guide, including land deeds and letters to and from colonists about their dealings with Indigenous peoples. Folder 7 contains items pertaining to the Cherokee Nation, Folder 8 contains items pertaining to Connecticut and the Corchaug people, and Folder 4 contains a miscellaneous assortment of items.
Middagh family papers, 1654-circa 1840
Call number: 1974.179
0.17 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
This collection primarily consists of deeds and other property documents, 1654 to 1789. A transcript of a 1669 Suffolk County Clerk document specifically mentions the Montauketts and other Indigenous peoples.
Mrs. Milan Hulbert Collection of colonial British America and early United States of America papers, 1698-1846
Call number: ARC.278
2.6 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Box 3 of this collection includes two documents relevant to this guide: New York: Land Grant, 1786, a confirmation from Governor Clinton to Jacob Watson regarding a tract of land in Montgomery and Washington Counties that mentions Indigenous peoples; and West Florida: Land Grants, Petitions, 1770-1781 includes a petition from residents of Naches, West Florida (located within what is now Mississippi) that alludes to a negative relationship between settlers and Indigenous peoples.
New York City WPA historical survey of Indigenous People of Brooklyn, 1939-1940
Call number: 1977.121
0.3 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes drafted sections of “The Indians of Brooklyn in the Days of the Dutch,” compiled by William Christie MacLeod. It also includes research notes, annotated maps, notes on the orthography of Indigenous words and names, and typescript copies of 17th century letters, journals and deeds. A bound copy of “The Indians of Brooklyn in the Days of the Dutch” is available in our non-circulating library collection.
Pelletreau Family papers, 1662-1921
Call number: ARC.142
1 linear foot.
Link to finding aid.
Contains deeds involving multiple land agreements between settlers and Indigenous peoples, particularly the Shinnecocks, from 1662 until 1703. [1650-1703]
Proprietors of Montauk collection, 1699-1886
Call number: ARC.066
2.17 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Includes deeds and land conveyances between English setters and Montauketts, indentures, receipts, and court records regarding a legal dispute involving Indigenous peoples. The Proprietor of Montauk Minute Books include descriptions of transactions and disputes between settlers and Montauketts. Please note: The original deeds in this collection are not available to researches, but photocopies are included in the collection. Additionally, transcriptions of these deeds can be found in “Indian deeds to Montauk, Long Island, N.Y.: 1655-1794,” which is available in our non-circulating library collection.
Robert Livingston papers, 1670-1797
Call number: 1974.018
0.42 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Robert Livingston (1654-1728) served as the Secretary of Indian Affairs from the 1696-1710. Series one includes documents relating to Livingston Manor, including land deeds from Indigenous peoples. Series two contains documentation of the relationship between the Commissioners of Indian Affairs at Albany and the Indigenous peoples of the Hudson Valley and Central New York, 1679 to 1723. Please note: Many items are in fragile condition.
Robert C. Winthrop Collection, 1660s-1690s
Call number: 1974.052
1.67 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Colonial land documents, including deeds and patents between English colonial administrator Edmund Andros and Indigenous peoples.
Saretta G. Hicks papers on Lady Deborah Moody, 1558-1656, 1963-1965
Call number: ARC.276
2 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes research conducted by Saretta G. Hicks on Lady Deborah Moody, a founder of Gravesend, New York. Document types includes correspondence of Hicks, and the deeds and wills of Lady Moody and Walter Dunch. Also includes notes on 17th century Indigenous tribes, places, customs, and interactions with colonists.
Smith Families Papers, 1659-1848
Call number: ARC.244
0.12 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Papers of the Smith families of the towns of Brookhaven (referred to in the papers as the Manor of St. George) and Smithtown in Suffolk County, Long Island, N.Y., dating from 1659 to 1848. Includes land grants and deeds, journals, and indentures that explicitly or implicitly relate to Indigenous peoples, including the 1666 Brookhaven deed, the 1743 Smithtown deed, and a 1770 apprentice indenture for “Indian Simon.”
Stevanus Van Cortlandt Red Hook land deeds, 1697-1712
Call number: 1974.007
1.67 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Deed issued by William III, King of England, Scotland and Ireland, to Stevanus Van Cortlandt for the island of Red Hook (1697), and a later deed granting the land to Matthias Van Dyk, from Van Cortlandt’s heirs (1712).
Tobacus land deeds, 1664-1701
Call number: 1977.568
0.04 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Photostat copies of deeds for land in Setauket and Brookhaven, Long Island between Tabacus, the Sachem of the Montauks, and the English settlers, including Governor Winthrop. See also Winthrop papers, 1974.052.
Town of Hempstead deed, 1684
Call number: 1978.135
0.08 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Fragments of a very deteriorated deed dated 1684, presumably from the Hempstead, Long Island area.
Townsend Family papers, 1658-1809
Call number: 1974.021
0.07 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Four manuscripts of the Townsend family, including deeds for land in Oyster Bay, Long Island involving European settlers and Indigenous peoples, dated 1658 to 1678.
Wheeler N. Voorhees collection, 1766-1935
Call number: 1977.182
0.13 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Includes a copy of an English translation of “Information relative to taking of land in New Netherland” by Cornelis van Tienhoven, 1650. The piece describes use of land by Indigenous peoples, particularly in areas of Long Island, Manhattan and Connecticut.
William R. Coleman papers, 1891-1926
Call number: ARC.018
0.01 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Collection contains two cabinet photos of William R. Coleman in fringed buckskins, posing with a trio of Indigenous people assumed to be mother, father and baby; card marked “Ft. Sill, O.T.” (Oklahoma Territory).
William Nicoll land grants, 1658-1809
Call number: 1974.029
1.67 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
This collection contains 11 grants issued to William Nicoll for land in the Province of New York, many relating to the town of Islip in Suffolk County.
Wyandanch and Henry Whitnee land deed, 1658
Call number: 1977.366
0.01 linear feet.
Link to finding aid.
Photocopy of a deed documenting the sale of land by Wyandanch, Sachem of the Montaukett people, to Henry Whitnee of the town of Huntington.
Books
The following list highlights some of the Center for Brooklyn History’s books pertaining to Indigenous history. Researchers are encourage to browse the catalog for additional titles.
Aboriginal occupation of New York
Main Collection (Q11.N82 no.32)
Aboriginal place names of New York
Main Collection (Q11.N82 no.108)
Aboriginal use of wood in New York
Main Collection (Q11.N82 no.89)
An abridgment of the Indian affairs contained in four folio volumes, transacted in the colony of New York, from the year 1678 to the year 1751
Closed Stacks (E78.N7 A27 1915)
An account of conferences held, and treaties made, between Major-General Sir William Johnson, bart., and the chief sachems and warriours of the Mohawks, Oneidas, Onandagos, Cayugas, Senekas, Tuskaroras, Aughquageys, Skaniadaradighronos, Chugnuts, Mahickanders, Shawanese, Kanuskagos, Toderigbronos, and Oghquagoes ; Indian nations in North America at their meetings on different occasions at Fort Johnson, in the Colony of New York, in the years 1755 and 1756 : with a letter from the Rev. Mr. Hawley to Sir William Johnson, written at Defire of the Delaware Indians and a preface giving a short account of the Six Nations, some anecdotes of the life of Sir William, and notes illustrating the whole ; also an appendix containing an account of conferences between several Quakers in Philadelphia, and some of the heads of the Six nations, in April 1756
Rare Books (E199 .A16)
An account of two voyages to New-England: wherein you have the setting out of a ship, with the charges : the prices of all necessaries for furnishing a planter and his family at his first coming : a description of the countrey, natives and creatures, with their merchantil and physical use : the government of the countrey as it is now possessed by the English, &c. : a large chronological table … to the year 1673
Special Collections (RARE.J84 1674)
Americana from the distinguished collections of the Long Island Historical Society: voyages & travels, the opening of the West Canada, American Indians, Mormons.
Main Collection (Z1207.L66 1973)
The battle of 1669 at the Kinaquariones
Closed Stacks (F127.L8 L6 v.36)
“Bethpage Purchase”: deed given Thomas Powell by Massapequa Indians, 1965 for Farmingdale, L.I.
Main Collection (F129.F376 B48 1900z)
Bibliographic notes on Eliot’s Indian Bible and on his other translations and works in the Indian language of Massachusetts: extract from a “Bibliography of the Algonquian languages.”
Reference – Desk (Z7771.I4 E2 1890
A brief account of the proceedings of the committee: appointed in the year 1795 by the yearly meeting of Friends of Pennsylvania, New-Jersey, &c. for promoting the improvement and gradual civilization of the Indian natives.
Special Collections (E77.F892 1806)
A Brief and true narrative of the hostile conduct of the barbarous natives towards the Dutch nation
Main Collection (F122.1.B85 1863)
Brooklyn: A State of Mind (Baker, K. “The Boerum Hill Reservation.” pp. 256-259.)
Main Collection (F129.B7 B6525 2000)
Catalogue of Catlin’s Indian gallery of portraits, landscapes, manners and customs, costumes, &c. … collected during seven years’ travel amongst thirty-eight different tribes, speaking different languages
Special Collections (E77 .C363 1857b)
The chance horizon: an early stage of Mohawk Iroquois cultural development
Main Collection (E99.M8 R5 1952)
The code of Handsome Lake, the Seneca prophet
Main Collection (Q11.N82 no.163)
David Cusick’s sketches of ancient history of the Six Nations: comprising first- a tale of the great island, (now North America), the two infants born, and the creation of the universe : second- a real account of the early settlers of North America, and their dissensions : third- origin of the kingdom of the five nations, which was called a long house: the wars, fierce animals, &c.
Closed Stacks (E99.I7 C9 1848)
Documents and proceedings relating to the formation and progress of a board in the city of New York, for the emigration, preservation, and improvement, of the aborigines of America: July 22, 1829
Closed Stacks (E93.E91 1829)
The Dutch and the Iroquois: suggestions as to the importance of their friendship in the great struggle of the eighteenth century for the possession of this continent, being a paper read before the Long Island Historical Society, February 21, 1882
Main Collection (E99.I7 H2 1882)
Dutch records in the City clerk’s office, New York
Main Collection (F128.5.B36 1901)
Early chapters of Cayuga History: Jesuit missions in Goi-o-gouen, 1656-1684; also an account of the Sulpitian mission among the emigrant Cayugas about Quinti Bay, in 1668
Main Collection (F127.C5 H3 1879)
Fiftieth anniversary souvenir program of the Cuyler Presbyterian Church
Main Collection (F129.B761 C89 1936)
Historical incidents in the lives of Joachim & Anna Catharine Senseman; and his son Gottlob Senseman, and his wife, who were missionaries among the North American Indians, with Count Zinzendorf … and others (beginning A.D. 1742)
Main Collection (CS71 .S467 1881)
The history & archaeology of the Montauk
Main Collection (E99.M88 H58 1993)
History of Asbury Park and Long Branch: together with the traditions of the Indians and settlers of Monmouth & Ocean counties, N.J.
Main Collection (F144.A83 M3 1902
History of the discovery of America: of the landing of our forefathers, at Plymouth, and of their most remarkable engagements with the Indians, in New-England, from their first landing in 1620, until the final subjugation of the natives in 1669. To which is annexed, the defeat of Generals Braddock, Harmer & St. Clair, by the Indians at the westward, &C
Special Collections (E81.T872 1810)
The history of the Five Indian nations of Canada: which are dependent on the province of New-York in America, and are the barrier between the English and French in that part of the world. With accounts of their religion, manners, customs, laws, and forms of government; their several battles and treaties with the European nations; particular relations of their several wars with the other Indians; and a true account of the present state of our trade with them
Special Collections (E99.I7 C6 1747g)
History of the Indian tribes of Hudson’s river: their origin, manners and customs; tribal and sub-tribal organizations; wars, treaties, etc.
Main Collection (E78.N7 R9 1872)
A history of the Indian wars with the first settlers of the United States, particularly in New-England
Rare Books (E81.S21 1812)
History of the Rockaways
Main Collection (F127.Q3 F37 1932)
History of the state of New-York: including its aboriginal and colonial annals
Closed Stacks (F122.2 .M92 1824)
Indian affairs in colonial New York: the seventeenth century
Main Collection (E78.N7.T7 1960)
The Indians of Brooklyn in the days of the Dutch
Main Collection (F129.B747 I54 1941)
Indian deeds to Montauk, Long Island, N.Y.: 1655-1794
Main Collection (F129.E13 I53 1900z)
Indian history, biography and genealogy: pertaining to the good sachem Massasoit of the Wampanoag tribe, and his descendants
Main Collection (CS71 .M3277 1878)
Indian life of long ago in the city of New York
Main Collection (E78.N7 B67 1972)
Indian names of places in the borough of Brooklyn: with historical and ethnological notes
Main Collection (F129.B7 T55 1901)
Indian notices: or, Sketches of the habits, characters, languages, superstitions, soil, and climate of the several nations …: also, the ic[h]thyology of the fresh waters of the interior
Main Collection (F2379 .H64 1825)
The Indian place-names on Long Island and islands adjacent: with their probable significations
Main Collection (F127.L8 T6 1911)
An Indian preacher in England
Main Collection (CT275.O33 A4 1933)
Indian trails of Kings County: typescript: read at meeting of Women of ’76, D.A.R., November, 1925
Main Collection (F98.T7 I53 1925)
John Eliot’s first Indian teacher and interpreter: Cockenoe-de-Long Island and the story of his career from the early records
Main Collection (E90.C6 T6 1896)
A letter from the Revd Mr. Sergeant of Stockbridge, to Dr. Colman of Boston; containing Mr. Sergeant’s proposal of a more effectual method for the education of Indian children; to raise ’em if possible into a civil and industrious people; by introducing the English language among them; and thereby instilling into their minds and hearts, with a more lasting impression, the principles of virtue and piety
Rare Books (E97.S48 1743)
Life of Joseph Brant-Thayendanegea, including the border wars of the American revolution and sketches of the Indian campaigns of generals Harmar, St. Clair, and Wayne. And other matters connected with the Indian relations of the United States and Great Britain, from the peace of 1783 to the Indian peace of 1795.
Special Collections (E90.B8 S8 1838
The life and adventures of Black Hawk: with sketches of Keokuk, the Sac and Fox Indians, and the late Black Hawk War
Closed Stacks (E83.83.B64 1846)
The life and death of the renown’d Mr. John Eliot, who was the first preacher of the gospel to the Indians in America. With an account of the wonderful success which the gospel has had amongst the heathen in that part of the world: and of the many strange customes of the pagan Indians, in New England
Special Collections (E78.M4 W532 1691)
The Long Island Indian
Closed Stacks (F127.L8 L6 v.36)
Memoirs of Elleanor Eldridge
Special Collections (PAMP GreenFH-1)
The Mohawk Indians and their valley; being a chronological documentary record to the end of 1693
Main Collection (E99.M8 G7 1969)
The Mohawks scrape the sky
Main Collection (HD8039.I5 A4 1952)
Myths and legends of the New York State Iroquois
Main Collection (Q11 .N82 no.125)
A narrative of the captivity and sufferings of Benjamin Gilbert and his family, who were taken by the Indians in the spring of 1780
Main Collection (CS71 .G5353 1848)
New England captives carried to Canada between 1677 and 1760, during the French and Indian wars
Closed Stacks (E85 .C65 1925)
New York City in Indian possession
Main Collection (E78.N7 B675 1975)
No man’s land, Long Island
Main Collection (F127.L8 L6 v. 10)
Observations on the inhabitants, climate, soil, rivers, productions, animals, and other matters worthy of notice
Rare Books (F122 .B129 1751)
The old New York frontier: its wars with Indians and Tories, its missionary schools, pioneers, and land titles, 1614-1800
Main Collection (F119 .H19 1901)
Oneóta; or Characteristics of the red race of America from original notes and manuscripts
Main Collection (E77.S42 1845)
Pioneer history of the Holland purchase of western New York: embracing some account of the ancient remains … and a history of pioneer settlement under the auspices of the Holland company; including reminiscences of the war of 1812; the origin, progress and completion of the Erie canal, etc., etc., etc.
Main Collection (F127.H7.T7 1849)
Records of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Caughnawaga: now the Reformed Church of Fonda, in the village of Fonda, Montgomery County, N.Y.
Main Collection (F129.F6661 R44 1917)
Regulating the Indian Department: (to accompany bills H.R. nos. 488, 489, & 490) May 20, 1834
Closed Stacks (E93.E91 1829)
Report of Hon. Theodore Roosevelt made to the United States Civil Service Commission: upon a visit to certain Indian reservations and Indian schools in South Dakota, Nebraska, and Kansas
Main Collection E93.R66 1893
Report of Indian Peace Commissioners: message from the President of the United States transmitting report of the Indian Peace Commissioners
Special Collections (E83.866.U56 1868)
Researches on America; being an attempt to settle some points relative to the aborigines of America, &c.
Special Collections (E61 .M12 1817)
The right of the governor and company, of the colony of Connecticut, to claim and hold the lands within the limits of their charter, lying west of the province of New-York, stated and considered: : in a letter to J.H. Esquire. : To which is added, an account of the purchase from the Indians, of part of those lands, by the Susquehannah and Delaware companies, and their proceedings thereon..
Special Collections (F157.W9 R5 1773)
Robert M. Grinnell and Sophie, his wife, against Edward M. Baker and Ella his wife
Main Collection (KFN5141 .R63 1879)
The Ryder’s Pond Site, Kings County, New York
Main Collection (E98.A6 L67 1971)
Samson Occom: the Mohegan Indian teacher, preacher and poet: with a short sketch of his life
Main Collection (CT275.O33 N55 1888
Some Indian fishing stations upon Long Island: with historical and ethnological notes
Main Collection (F127.L8 T66 1901)
The Sullivan expedition of 1779, contemporary newspaper comment
Main Collection (E235.S9 W7 1943)
The thirteen tribes of Long Island
Closed Stacks (F127.L8 L6 v.36)
Thoughts on the state of the American Indians
Main Collection (C98.C9 W7 1950)
Uncas and Miantonomoh; a historical discourse, delivered at Norwich, (Conn.,) on the fourth day of July, 1842, on the occasion of the erection of a monument to the memory of Uncas, the white man’s friend, and first chief of the Mohegans
Main Collection (E90.U5 S8 1842)
The Underhill burying ground, an account of a parcel of land situate at Locust Valley, Long Island, New York, deeded by the Matinecock Indians, February twentieth, sixteen hundred and sixty-seven, to Captain John Underhill for meritorious service and known as the Underhill Burying Ground
Main Collection (CS71 .U53 1926)
Vocabularies of Indian languages
Closed Stacks (PM201.S29 1823)
Voyages and travels of an Indian interpreter and trader, describing the manners and customs of the North American Indians; with an account of the posts situated on the river Saint Laurence, Lake Ontario, &c.: To which is added a vocabulary of the Chippeway language. Names of furs and skins, in English and French. A list of words in the Iroquois, Mohegan, Shawanee, and Esquimeaux tongues, and a table, shewing the analogy between the Algonkin and Chippeway languages.
Special Collections (Folio E77.L84 1791)
Voyages from Holland to America, A.D. 1632 to 1644
Closed Stacks (E162.V75 1853)
We hang in the balance
Closed Stacks (F127.L8 L6 v.36)
What does it mean to be free?: examining the history of the Lenni Lenape, European, and African people in Brooklyn
Main Collection (F129.B7 Y68 2016
Maps
Early Dutch explorer’s map
Flat Maps (E-US-[16–?] (1986).Fl)
An historical portrait of Long Island from 1600 to 1850
Flat Maps (L.I.-1600-1850 (1974).Fl
Indian episodes of New York State: land of the Hodenosaunee
Flat Maps (NYS-17th-19th Century (1935).Fl)
The Indian tribes of Long Island
Flat Maps (L.I.-1934.Fl)
Indian villages, paths, ponds and places in Kings County
Flat Maps (B B-1946.Fl)
The island of Manhattan (Mannahtin) at the time of its discovery: showing its elevations, water-courses, marshes, and shore line
Flat Maps (M-1609 (1909).Fl.O
Map of the town of Oyster Bay, N.Y.
Flat Maps (L.I.-17th century (19–?).Fl)
The Mohawk Valley in 1757 : a composite map taken from the British Crown Collection, showing a map prepared by a British engineer during the French and Indian War and a map owned by the Wisconsin Historical Society
Flat Maps (NYS-1757 (19–?).Fl)
Sekakus patent: 2000 acres: based on the Indian purchase of Jan. 30, 1658
Flat Maps (NJ-17th-19th century (1957).Fl)
To his excellency William Tryon Esqr., captain general & governor in chief of the province of New-York & &: this map of the country of the VI. nations proper, with part of the adjacent colonies is humbly inscribed
Flat Maps (Mid. Atl.-1771 (1851).Fl
This research guide was updated April 2023.