Early Long Island History

Introduction

The Center for Brooklyn History provides this guide for those researching early Long Island history. Generally speaking, "early Long Island" refers to the land that was considered Long Island prior to the consolidation of the boroughs of the City of New York in 1898. This includes what is now the boroughs of Brooklyn and Queens, as well as the Long Island of today. In addition to these materials, researchers are encouraged to browse the collections and other research guides for resources that may be relevant to their work. The principal keyword to search is "Long Island." You can also search by neighborhood and county names, including, "Babylon," "Fire Island," "North Hempsted," "Oyster Bay," "Southold," "Townsend," etc., "Suffolk county," "Nassau County," "Kings County," "Queens County," etc. Effort has been made to highlight marginalized histories of Indigenous and Black (free and enslaved) Long Islanders. 

This guide focuses on text-based archival materials, but includes books, maps, newspapers, and photographs. Archival materials include correspondence, deeds, scrapbooks, diaries, census records, viewbooks, research notes, and more. 

This research guide has been made possible with generous funding from The Robert David Lion Gardiner Foundation. 

To create an appointment or ask a question, please contact cbhreference@bklynlibrary.org.

Archival Collections

Collections are presented in this guide in chronological order according to date of materials, or earliest date in a date range. Each entry follows the format:  

• Collection name, date range of the collection
• Call number
• Link to the finding aid
• Brief description of content in the collection relevant to Green-Wood Cemetery 

Archival collections can be further explored through the archives portal. 

Wyandanch and Henry Whitnee land deed, 1658

1977.366
Link to the finding aid
A photocopy of a deed documenting the sale of land by Wyandanch (often spelled Wyandance), Sachem (Chief) of the Montaukett (Montauk) Native Americans on Long Island, to Henry Whitnee of the town of Huntington. The deed is dated August 17, 1658. The original deed was held in the Huntington Town Records at the time it was copied.

Henry Townsend Oyster Bay land deed, 1661

1974.050
Link to the finding aid
Original land deed, dated 1661, granting land in Oyster Bay, Long Island to Henry Townsend, signed by 18 Oyster Bay inhabitants. The deed grants land on the Mill River to Townsend for the building and maintaining of a mill. An undated copy of the deed is also included.

Richard Lawrence estate inventory, 1717

1974.206
Link to the finding aid
Inventory of the estate of Richard Lawrence, resident of Suffolk County, Long Island, dated 1717. In addition to livestock, furniture and other household goods, the inventory lists an African-American man named Jambo. The inventory also lists the quantities and monetary value of all items listed.

North Hempstead, Oyster Bay, and South Hempstead agreement, 1791

1977.474
Link to the finding aid
One handwritten copy of an agreement establishing the creation of a public yard for the purpose of pasturing sheep in the towns of North Hempstead, Oyster Bay, and South Hempstead in Long Island, N.Y., dated August 22, 1791. A list of signers of the document is also included.

Queens County Court of General Sessions of the Peace record, 1799

1977.106
Link to the finding aid
A decision issued by the Queens County Court of General Sessions of the Peace, dated 1799. The case in question concerned a John Schenck of the town of North Hempstead, Long Island, who sought the court's approval to manumit (or free) an enslaved African-American man named Prince. The court ruled in favor of Schenck and allowed Prince to be freed. The document lists the names of all the judges and lawyers involved with the case.

Southampton census of 1821, 1821

1973.123
Link to the finding aid
The Southampton census of 1821 consists of a single bound, handwritten volume. It lists the first and last names of the primary member of each household in the town, accompanied by numerical figures written in 11 separate columns next to each name. The first four columns list figures pertaining to the number of freeholders residing in each household, and the number of acres of improved land occupied by each household. Information explaining the meaning of the numerals in the other seven columns is missing. Recorded in the back of the volume is summary information listing the total number of freeholders and non-freeholders living in Southampton; the total acreage of occupied improved land; the total number of cattle, sheep, and horses owned by town residents; the total quantity (in yards) of flannel, linen and woolen cloths produced in Southampton; and the total number of grist mills, fulling mills, saw mills, carding machines and cotton and woolen factories in operation at the time the census was recorded.

Hempstead tax assessment roll, 1846

1973.107
Link to the finding aid
One tax assessment roll for the Town of North Hempstead in Long Island, dating from 1846. The roll contains an alphabetical list of North Hempstead residents, with information on each resident's acreage, real estate, personal estate, and the amount of tax owed. Also included are lists of non-residents and resident African Americans. The roll was compiled by John C. Mott, Collector of North Hempstead.

Minutes regarding the formation of Nassau County, Long Island, 1848

1973.279
Link to the finding aid
Minutes of a meeting held in the village of Mineola on January 22, 1898 by citizens from Hempstead, North Hempstead, and Oyster Bay to discuss the formation of Nassau County as an alternative to annexation to Greater New York City or Kings, Suffolk, or Queens Counties. The minutes were recorded by secretary Archer B. Wallace.

Sineus Hopping letter, 1862

1974.217
Link to the finding aid
A letter from Sineus Hopping to his parents, dated November 1, 1862. The letter was written by Hopping while aboard the United States Receiving Ship North Carolina at the Brooklyn Navy Yard. In the letter, Hopping discusses his impending incription into the military. Hopping was from Bridgehampton, Long Island.
 

Helen Zunser Wortis collection, 1600-1976

1977.351
Link to the finding aid
The Helen Zunser Wortis collection contains research materials compiled by Wortis during the period 1943 to 1976 while researcing African American history on Long Island and Shelter Island history. The research is mostly dedicated to slavery and the African American population on Long Island.

Mid-Atlantic Early Manuscripts collection, 1648-1867

1974.002
Link to the finding aid
This collection contains correspondence, deeds, indentures, wills, land conveyance documents, and printed materials authored by or pertaining to various figures from colonial and early national Long Island, New England, District of Columbia, Tennessee, and Europe. Many documents originate from prominent individuals, such as Lyman Beecher, King George III, John Paul Jones, Robert R. Livingston, William Penn, John Ross, Benjamin Rush, and Noah Webster. Items relate to early colonial and American conflicts, the Louisiana Purchase, slavery, and Native American affairs, particularly those involving the Cherokee Nation. Also included is a letter from General Toussaint Louverture, accompanied by a portrait image.

Townsend family papers, 1658-1809

1974.021
Link to the finding aid
Originally from Norwich, England, Henry Townsend (d. 1695) immigrated with his brothers, John and Richard, to the Dutch settlement of New Amsterdam (later New York) during the mid-17th century, eventually settling in the Long Island town of Oyster Bay. This collection includes materials from the Townsend family, including several deeds for land in Oyster Bay, Long Island involving European settlers and Native Americans, dated 1658 to 1678; an arithmetic book of Margaret Townsend, dated 1786; and the will of Almy Townsend, dated 1809.

Long Island Early Manuscripts Collection, 1659-1861

1974.003
Link to the finding aid
The collection contains correspondence, land deeds, wills, and legal and official documents, mainly related to 18th century Long Island. Includes materials related to enslaved people and Native Americans.

Robert C. Winthrop collection, 1664-1699

1974.052
Link to the finding aid
This collection documents early Colonial property transactions in the Long Island towns of Brookhaven and Southold. Materials include, deeds, indetures, patents and warrents, and involve the Unkechaug Native Americans and English colonial administrator Edmund Andros.

Southold, N.Y. register book, 1683-1850

1978.185
Link to the finding aid
Entries in the register cover genealogical information, indenture, bond and deed information, records of town information, enslaved person's manumission notices, town meeting minutes, and voting records with results. Also included are the Southhold Academy bylaws and constitution, First Universalist Church in Southold bylaws and constitution, and records of the Commissioner of the highway of the town of Southold. The register book includes an index and was prepared by successive town historians throughout the mid-20th century.

J.W. Huntting copy of records of the First Church of Christ, Southold, Long Island, 1694-1853

1973.182
Link to the finding aid
One bound volume containing a handwritten copy of the records of the First Church of Christ in Southold, Long Island, for the period 1694 to 1853. The volume includes lists of baptisms, communions, covenants, deaths, and marriages, along with references to free and enslaved African Americans. An index of family names covered in the records is also included. The copy was created by J.W. Huntting in 1858.

Roger Gill diary, 1698-1699

1981.014
Link to the finding aid
The diary of Roger Gill, a Quaker, documenting his trip to the American colonies in 1698 and 1699. The diary describes his travels to Quaker settlements in Long Island, New Jersey, Connecticut, Rhode Island, and other parts of the northeast. Roger Gill died in Philadelphia, PA in 1699.

Henry Lloyd ledgers, 1703-1744

1974.117
Link to the finding aid
Six account books of merchant Henry Lloyd, recording financial transactions and accounts throughout the period 1703 to 1744 in North Shore, Long Island. The account books also make mention of the individuals Lloyd enslaved, including Jupiter Hammon, a Black man born into slavery on the Lloyd estate who later went on to become the first African-American published poet.

Long Island deeds collection, 1716-1885

1978.006
Link to the finding aid
A collection of deeds from various properties located on Long Island, dated 1716 to 1885 and measuring 0.16 linear feet. Property locations in the collection include East Hampton, Southampton, Brookhaven, Flushing, Newtown, Jamaica, and Brooklyn. Names mentioned in the collection include Charlotte Schermerhorn, William H. Schermerhorn, Jacob and Juliet Strong, Peter Stuyvesant, William J. Cogswell, Daniel Brewster, George Stillwell, George Jarvis, George Post, and Henry E. Pierrepont.

Henry Onderdonk papers, 1729-1895

ARC.045
Link to the finding aid
Henry Onderdonk (1804-1886) of Queens County, Long Island, New York, was an educator at Union Hall Academy, and an historian and author of many works based on his research among local records. The Onderdonk papers include manuscript versions of Onderdonk's historical works; notes and transcriptions taken by Onderdonk from private journals, church and local government records, and newspapers; correspondence from historians, genealogists and others often conveying information requested by Onderdonk; and scrapbooks of newspaper clippings covering the 1820s to 1868, with some earlier and later dated material. The bulk of the material concerns the geographic area encompassing present day Queens and Nassau counties, though the other two counties on Long Island, Kings and Suffolk, are also represented.

Benjamin H. Foster and Samuel Hunt family papers, 1774-1870

1977.198
Link to the finding aid
This collection contains two principal sets of documents, one centered on attorney Benjamin H. Foster (1808-circa 1880s) of Southampton, Long Island, N.Y., and the other on Foster's brother-in-law, Samuel Hunt (1810-1878) of Massachusetts. Many of the documents, such as bills of sale, receipts and indentures, pertain to Benjamin Foster and his family's involvement in the whaling and steam ship industry in the mid-1800s.

Sands family papers, 1795

ARC.096
Link to the finding aid
The Sands family was one of the original three families that settled in and owned what is now Sands Point, N.Y. The Sands family papers consist of four items, dating from 1776 to 1795, and include two financial accounts, one indenture for apprenticeship, and one receipt.

Charles Turnbull correspondence, 1778-1791

1981.015
Link to the finding aid
The Charles Turnbull correspondence spans the period 1778 to 1791 and consists of a letter copybook containing correspondence between Charles Turnbull and his family members and friends. Charles Turnbull (b. circa 1754) served as a captain in the Pennsylvania militia during the Revolutionary War and was held as a British prisoner on Long Island. The letters include correspondence between Charles in Pennsylvania and his wife and friends in British-occupied Brooklyn. Turnbull's later letters focus on international commerce between the United States, London, and India.

Long Island, Brooklyn, and Queens broadsides collection, 1781-1840

1977.312
Link to the finding aid
This collection consists of various printed broadsides compiled by librarians at the Long Island Historical Society (later the Brooklyn Historical Society). The broadsides are primarily from Long Island, Brooklyn, and Queens, with some from other areas of New York State, and date from 1781 to 1840. Subjects represented in the broadsides include politics, elections, horse races, advertising, the construction of piers along the East River, public land auctions, and the New York State Militia, among others.
 

Long Island bills and receipts collection, 1794-1886

1977.295
Link to the finding aid
The Long Island bills and receipts collection spans the period 1794 to 1886 and consists of twenty-nine bills and receipts from various places on Long Island (including Queens County) for textiles, dry goods, household goods, and horse and smithy goods and services.

Civil War collection, 1804-1865

1977.200
Link to the finding aid
Broadsides and ephemera cover events and organizations local to Brooklyn, New York City, Queens, and Long Island from the early 19th century to the Civil War era. The broadsides provide discussion of local, regional, and national issues, such as drafts, slavery, temperance, elections, and political platforms, and represent organizations such as the National Freedman's Relief Association, the War Fund Committee of Brooklyn, and the Suffolk County Sabbath School Association.

Town of Southampton School District No. 11 proceedings and census records, 1819-1862

1977.063
Link to the finding aid
This collection consists of two bound volumes containing proceedings of the officers and inhabitants of the town of Southampton School District No. 11 in Long Island, N.Y. for the period 1819 to 1862. Also included are periodic district censuses containing lists of parents and the number of children they have who will be attending school. Censuses also include references to African American children.

Reformed Protestant Dutch Church, Classis of Long Island minute book, 1821-1822

1973.142
Link to the finding aid
This minute book contains an extract of minutes of a meeting of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church, Classis of Long Island. The meeting convened in the town of Jamaica in Queens County, N.Y. in December 1821, and was called to investigate and try the charges of "want of veracity and honesty" brought against the Reverend Zachariah H. Kuypers by Daniel Hoogland, Commissioner of the New Church of North Hempstead, Long Island. The minute book also includes a statement regarding the trial by the Elders of the New Church of North Hempstead, dating from January 1822, and newspaper clippings, attached separately, relating to medicinal treatments for various diseases.

Long Island, New York census transcriptions, 1855, 1865

ARC.194
Link to the finding aid
The collection consists of two bound notebooks containing handwritten transcriptions of data from the New York State censuses of 1855 and 1865. The notebooks list the names of families that resided in the Long Island towns of Bridge Hampton, East Hampton, and South Hampton, including the first names and ages of the members of each family at the time that the census was recorded. The notebooks do not list the addresses at which these families lived. The transcriber of this data is unknown.

B.H. Huntington manuscripts, 1856, 1864

1973.097
Link to the finding aid
This collection contains three manuscripts written by Brooklyn resident B.H. Huntington. The manuscripts relate to the history and folklore of East Hampton, Long Island from the 17th through 19th centuries, with an emphasis on church history. A narrative of an African-American girl buried at the site of a church is included. Titles include Deserted Fane: Being a Brief Obituary, Historical and Traditional of the Old Temple in East Hampton (1864);  The Old Silver-Smith: A Reminiscence of East Hampton (1856); and  The Old Church Bell (1856). All three manuscripts are compiled in one bound volume and are accompanied by a note to a Mr. Spooner (presumably Edwin B. Spooner, the son of  Long Island Star publisher Alden Spooner) regarding their possible publication.

Daniel M. Tredwell papers, 1876-1917

ARC.188
Link to the finding aid
The Daniel M. Tredwell papers contain manuscripts of histories, essays, lectures, and reminiscences by Daniel Melancthon Tredwell (1826-1921). Dating from circa 1870s through circa 1910s, these manuscript writings primarily concern Long Island, especially Kings, Nassau, and Suffolk counties, with the towns of Flatbush and Hempstead appearing most frequently. The collection includes three major manuscripts, one on Kings County history, another on Native Americans of Long Island, and the last dating from circa 1888 concerning Tredwell's personal reminiscences of nineteenth century Long Island.

George R. Howell papers, c. 1625-1876

ARC.054
Link to the finding aid
The George R. Howell papers include two items pertaining to Howell's work as an historian and genealogist. The first item is a small journal, dated 1876, containing Howell's handwritten notes on birth, marriage, and death records taken from the Southampton Town Clerk's Office, tombstone inscriptions, and family Bibles. The information in the journal pertains to various Southampton families and spans the late 1600s to the mid-1800s. The second item in the collection is a bound, handwritten speech delivered by Howell at the 225th anniversary of the Settlement of Southampton, Long Island, dated 1865. Also included in the back of the volume is an extract from the genealogies of the Howell and Rogers families of Southampton for the years 1625 to 1858.

Lester Dunbar Mapes genealogy collection, c. 1930-1944

ARC.119
Link to the finding aid
The Lester Dunbar Mapes genealogy collection, spanning circa 1930 to 1944 and measuring .25 linear feet, contains genealogical notes, copies of wills, and copies of deeds that were compiled by Lester Dunbar Mapes for an unpublished genealogy of the Mapes family and its descendents spanning the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. The collection contains genealogical notes on 20 families from New York State (mostly from Suffolk County and Orange County) including four Brooklyn families: the Mapes, Vanderveers, Tuthills, and Pratts. Additionally, there are extensive reference notes citing the sources from which Mapes attained his genealogical information. Finally, the collection includes a Photostat and typescript copy of a portion of the last will and testament of Thomas Mapes of Southold, Long Island, N.Y., 1686.

Ariadne Valsamis notes on Montauk history, c. 1980

1985.090
Link to the finding aid
The collection contains 26 pages of handwritten notes taken while Ariadne Valsamis was a volunteer performing research for the Brooklyn Historical Society's archives staff. Topics covered include: the Montauk Indians of Long Island, Lion Gardiner, Wyandanch, and Arthur W. Benson. Benson was taken to court by the Montauks in an attempt to retain their tribal lands that Benson purchased in 1885.

Art & Artifacts

A small portion of the art and artifacts collections is explorable through the PastPerfect database. Contact the collections team to inquire about additional collections not yet represented online: cbhreference@bklynlibrary.org.

Books

This booklist highlights titles relating to early Long Island History. Researchers are encouraged to browse the catalog for additional titles. As the book collection is non-circulating, titles cannot be placed on hold online. To request books, please contact us at cbhreference@bklynlibrary.org. 

Maps

These pre-consolidation maps focus on the region still known as Long Island, with light coverage of what is now known as the boroughs of Brooklyn and Queens. Explore further via the maps portal and digital collections. 

Plan of the City of New York in North America surveyed in the years 1766-1767
"The Ratzer Map"
1766-1767
Link to map

An Historical Map of the Battle of Brooklyn
1776
Link to map

Map of the progress of His Majesty’s armies in New York, during the late campaign: illustrating the accounts published in the London Gazette
1776
Link to map

[Map of Long Island, from Greenwood Cemetery to Brentwood]
[18??]
Link to map

Map of Montauk, Suffolk County, N.Y.
[18??]
Link to map

A map of the island of Manhados and part of Long Island, drawn about 1665
[18??]
Link to map

[Map of Hempstead Bay]
[18??]
Link to map

Long Island Sound from New York to Montock [i.e Montauk] Point: surveyed in the years 1828, 29, & 30 by Edmund Blunt ; writing by D.R. Harrison ; plan by W. Hooker
[1830]
Link to map

Map of Montrose in Queen’s County, Long Island
[184?]
Link to map

Map of the village of West Flushing in the township of Newtown, Queens Co. Long Island, New York: comprising the parts laid out and described on sectional maps no. 1, 2, 3, and 4
1854
Link to map

Map of Long Island
[1873]
Link to map

Huntington, town of Huntington, Suffolk Co
[1873]
Link to map

Richmond Hill: laid out expressly for private residences and against all nuisances : property of A.P. Man
[1873]
Link to map

Glen Cove, town of Oyster Bay, Queen’s Co
[1873]
Link to map

Important sale of fine building lots at Mineola, L.I., belonging to Benjamin D. Hicks, and the estate of Henry W. Eastman
[1887]
Link to map

Roslyn Highlands (Incorporated), New York
[189?]
Link to map

Colton’s road map of Long Island
1891
Link to map

Westhampton Beach: plan of Quogue
[1894]
Link to map

Jamaica, Long Island, N.Y.
[1895]
Link to map

Newspapers

The Long Island Star Highlights (1834-1841) and Marriage & Death Notices (1809-1845)

The complete run of The Long Island Star (1809-1823) and its subsequent iterations, The Star (1824-1825), The Long-Island Star (1826-1840), Brooklyn Daily Evening Star (1841), and Brooklyn Evening Star (1841-1863), are available on microfilm and the Brooklyn Newsstand. This is Brooklyn and Long Island's oldest newspaper. A handwritten guide to The Long Island Star was compiled by Thomas Lawrence, highlighting moments and subjects captured in the newspaper between 1834 and 1841. Such highlights relate to: a chronology of The Long Island Star, money and finance, City of Brooklyn, Long Island Railroad, Common Council, streets, South Ferry, and politics. The guide includes the article's title, date, and page number(s), as well as some excerpts. 

A card index on marriage and death notices posted in The Long Island Star is available for the years 1809 to 1845. Information included in marriage records relates to the place and date of the ceremony, immediate family members and places of origin of the newlyweds, and, occasionally, the reverend who performed the service. Information included in death records relates to the deceased’s relation to the Long Island / Brooklyn area, place and date of death, immediate familial and spousal relations, and occupation and / or titles of distinction. Occasional mentions are also made regarding place of birth, site of funerary ceremony, place of burial, and the family line of the deceased.

The Brooklyn Newsstand

Forty-four newspapers are available through the Brooklyn Newsstand (1809-1999), in partnership with Newspapers.com. The newsstand is available both on and off-site and is keyword searchable. A tutorial is available. The following titles cover pre-consolidation news:

The Brooklyn Citizen
1887-1947

The Brooklyn Daily Times
1856-1932

Brooklyn Eagle
1841-1963

Brooklyn Evening Star
1841-1863

Brooklyn Life
1890-1924

Brooklyn Review
1873-1874

The Brooklyn Sunday Sun
1873-1876

The Brooklyn Union
1863-1887

The Brooklyn Weekly Eagle
1842-1845

The Churchman
1854-1855

Greater Brooklyn
1895

Kings County Rural Gazette
1872-1879

The Long-Island Star
1826-1840

Times Union
1887-1937

The Voice
1885-188

Williamsburgh Daily Gazette
1835-1850

Photographic Collections

Below are photographic collections that document early Long Island. Explore more digitized photographs through the digital collections and image database. Undigitized photographs can be found in the archives portal. 

George Bradford Brainerd photograph collection, 1845-1887

BCMS.0059
Link to the finding aid
Link to the digital collections
The Brainerd photograph collection, spanning 1845-1887, includes film positives from original glass plate negatives, duplicate negatives, contact prints from duplicate negatives, and mounted prints. Approximately 75 images in this collection are stereographs. Subjects include: street scenes, houses, landscapes, waterfront and parks.

Early Brooklyn and Long Island photograph collection, c. 1860-1920

ARC.201
Link to the finding aid
Link to the image database
The Early Brooklyn and Long Island photograph collection is comprised of roughly 1,800 black-and-white photographs taken by various photographers from circa 1860 to 1920. The collection includes views of locations on Long Island, which is comprised of the boroughs of Brooklyn and Queens (Kings County and Queens County respectively), Nassau County, and Suffolk County. The majority of the photographs in the collection depict views of Brooklyn and Suffolk County.

Adrian Vanderveer Martense collection, 1872-1889

ARC.191
Link to the finding aid
Link to the image database
The Adrian Vanderveer Martense collection spans the dates 1872 to 1889 and measures 2.83 linear feet. The collection contains lantern slides and photographs taken by Martense documenting Brooklyn during the last quarter of the 19th century, in particular Flatbush, Brooklyn and the Blizzard of 1888, as well as other images of Brooklyn. The collection also includes four scrapbooks and one notebook compiled by Martense between 1872 and 1889.

Illustrated Long Island viewbook, 1883

V1986.035
Link to finding aid
Consists of 12 color non-photographic prints of illustrations of Long Island, N.Y.

Souvenir of Babylon and Fire Island viewbook, 1889

V1986.059
Link to finding aid
Images in the viewbook depict hotels, houses, docks, boats, people, and harbor views in Babylon, N.Y. and Fire Island, N.Y.

Souvenir of Moriches, 1898 viewbook, 1898

V1986.057
Link to the finding aid
The Souvenir of Moriches, 1898 viewbook contains black-and-white non-photographic prints of photographs depicting an area of the hamlet of Moriches, called Centre Moriches, that is located in Suffolk County, Long Island. The view book was published by Frederick F. Purdy, a real estate agent, surveyor, and conveyancer, for the purpose of promoting real estate located in Centre Moriches for sale or for rent, as well as to promote the quality of life of Centre Moriches as a residential destination. The viewbook contains images of hotels, churches, and pastoral and beach views, as well as informational and historical descriptions of the area. A Long Island Railroad time table between Long Island City in Queens, N.Y. and Centre Moriches is also included. The pages of the viewbook are brittle and have separated from the binding.

Mounted prints of Bergen family houses, c. 1876

V1986.011
Link to the finding aid
The Mounted prints of Bergen family houses is comprised of nine black-and-white mounted non-photographic prints depicting houses built and owned by the Bergen family in Brooklyn and Long Island.