The Revolutionary War in Brooklyn

[The Old Stone House], 1950 ca., v1973.5.2412, Brooklyn photograph and illustration collection ARC.202, Center for Brooklyn History, Brooklyn Public Library. 

The Center for Brooklyn History provides this guide for those researching the American Revolutionary War as it relates to Brooklyn.

Historical Background

The Battle of Brooklyn, also known as the Battle of Long Island or Battle of Brooklyn Heights, was the first major battle of the American Revolution and the largest in terms of both participants and casualties. This battle ended in defeat for George Washington’s Continental Army and resulted in the British stationing prison ships in New York Harbor, where they held captured American and French soldiers and privateers. The British maintained harsh conditions aboard the ships, where prisoners died of disease and malnourishment in high numbers. Bodies were sometimes thrown overboard or more commonly buried in shallow graves on land. After the war, Brooklynites organized to rebury the “martyrs” of the prison ships and erected a monument in their honor. Other commemorative activities honored those who fought and fell in the Battle of Brooklyn, in particular the soldiers of the First Maryland and First Delaware Regiments who lost their lives in a pivotal stand at the Old Stone House.1

Most of the library, archive, map, and art and artifacts collections at CBH relate to the Battle of Brooklyn and to the prison ships. Some materials relate to the domestic lives of colonial Brooklynites and the movement of citizens between British and revolutionary occupied territories and to the many loyalists who lived on or fled from Long Island during and after the war.

While Indigenous and Black enslaved people were living in Brooklyn and played a role during the American Revolution, there is little documentation of their roles in the conflict. More information about this can be found in our Black History and Indigenous Peoples of Long Island and New York research guides.

Researching in CBH’s Collections

This guide outlines materials from the CBH’s archives, library, and art and artifacts collections that directly relate to the Revolutionary War. In addition to the materials listed in this guide, researchers are encouraged to browse the collections and research guides for resources that may be relevant to their work. The principal keywords to search are:

  • "Revolutionary War"
  • “Revolution, 1775-1783"
  • “American Revolution”
  • “Battle of Brooklyn”
  • “Battle of Long Island”
  • “Battle of Brooklyn Heights”
  • “Battle for Brooklyn”
  • Etc.

You can also search specific armies or regiments by their ordinal designation, e.g.:

  • “Continental Army”
  • "Maryland Regiment, 1st"
  • Etc.

Individual names, e.g.:  

  • "Washington, George"
  • "Lauren, John"
  • Etc.

Many materials in the collection are contemporaneous to the war but are not directly related to it. Those materials are not included in this guide. The groups Daughters of the American Revolution, Sons of the American Revolution, and similar organizations are not included unless their activities directly related to the Revolution. Due to their names, they will appear frequently in search results for social activities unrelated to the war.

Archival Material

Archival material is included in this guide if it dates from the Revolutionary War years (1775-1783) or the period leading up to the war and directly pertains to the war or if it derives from memorial activities conducted after the war. This includes documents like correspondence, journals, historical notes and lectures, memorabilia, and maps.

The collections below are presented in five categories: 1) The Battle of Brooklyn and Prison Ships, 2) Soldiers, Regiments, and Veterans, 3) Visual Material, 5) Other Revolutionary Material, and 6) Commemoration.

Archives—Battle of Brooklyn and Prison Ships

Materials in this category contain primary or secondary sources directly related to the Battle of Brooklyn, which occurred on August 27, 1776, and the subsequent use by the British of prison ships in Wallabout Bay, now the site of the Brooklyn Navy Yard.

Charles E. Scriven Collection on Brooklyn History

This extensive collection of papers and clippings by Charles E. Scriven relates to the history of Brooklyn, especially Flatbush, from the 17th to the 19th centuries and contains both original documents and transcriptions of earlier sources. The following items relate to the American Revolution:

Box 1, folder 6, “Charles E. Scriven – Collection of Flatbush Landmarks”—Contains two transcriptions for the content of the folder, including newspaper clippings, depictions of colonial America homesteads and buildings, and a two-page spread about the prison ships.

Box 2, folder 17, “Charles E. Scriven - History of Flatbush - Origin of street names in New York City”  

Ezra Stiles Diary Extracts on the Battle of Long Island, 1776

Handwritten extracts from the diary of Ezra Stiles containing entries about the Battle of Long Island, including some hand-drawn maps. Stiles compiled others’ firsthand accounts and news reports. The original diary is held at the Yale Archives.

John Hancock Letter, 1776

A handwritten letter from John Hancock to the Constitutional Convention of New York, dated June 17, 1776, advising on preparations for the expected British invasion of New York City.

Landon Family Papers, 1776—1777

An account by one Col. Popham of his part in the Battle of Long Island; an unsigned 1777 "Memoire," or reflection, on the development of the Revolution and its international implications (box 5).

Lefferts Family Papers, 1845—1850s

Includes images and documents collected by the Lefferts family, particularly focusing on the American Revolutionary War and the Battle of Long Island. Highlights include illustrations of key locations and events, such as the Old Stone House at Gowanus and Washington’s retreat at Long Island (boxes 5 and OS-7). The files include a manuscript titled "Incidents in the home life during the War of the Revolution" containing recollections of the family's oral history in regard to the Battle of Long Island (box 2).

Nathan Hale Letter, 1776

Contains a typescript copy of a letter from Nathan Hale, written to his brother while he was on an intelligence-gathering mission in Long Island which ultimately led to his capture and execution by the British Army. 

Northrup Collection on Brooklyn History

Contains a book titled The life and Service of Major General William Alexander also called the Earl of Stirling by Charles A Ditmas (Alexander died at the Battle of Brooklyn), and a newspaper describing the unveiling of a Battle of Brooklyn monument in Green-Wood Cemetery.  

Oliver Starr St. John Lecture Notes on the Battle of Long Island, 1864

One bound volume containing handwritten notes on a lecture given by Oliver Starr St. John on the Battle of Long Island at the Long Island Historical Society (now the Center for Brooklyn History).

Samuel John Atlee Journal on the Battle of Long Island, 1776

A single bound volume containing Atlee's first-hand account of his defense of the Old Stone House in Brooklyn during the Battle of Long Island, as well as his capture by the British Army on the same day. Part of his internment was spent on prison ships.2

Archives—Soldiers, Regiments, and Veterans

The following collections contain primary or secondary sources directly related to soldiers, regiments, or veterans of the Revolutionary War. These sources include journals, letters, manuscripts, artifacts, and other documents.

Alexander Hamilton Collection, 1778

The collection includes a photostat of Hamilton's oath of allegiance to the United States.

Archibald Hamilton and Oliver De Lancey Revolutionary War order book, 1779—1780

One bound volume containing orders given by British loyalists Archibald Hamilton, commander of the Queens County Militia, and Oliver De Lancy, commander of De Lancey's Brigade on Long Island.

Autograph Manuscript Collection, 1777—1780

The Autograph Manuscript Collection includes letters and documents from notable figures of the American Revolution. Highlights include a 1777 wartime letter by John Adams regarding troop levies, a letter from John Andre to Ensign Stevenson about taking charge of a Black company, a letter from Benedict Arnold discussing revolutionary plans from Fort Ticonderoga, and a letter from Cornwallis to Washington after the Battle of Trenton requesting military supplies (box 1).

Charles Turnbull Correspondence, 1779—1783

This collection consists of a letter copybook with correspondence between Charles Turnbull and his family and friends. Turnbull served as a captain in the Pennsylvania militia during the Revolutionary War and was held as a British prisoner on Long Island. The letters include correspondence between Turnbull in Pennsylvania and his wife and friends in British-occupied Brooklyn.

Clarkson Family Papers, 1825

Matthew Clarkson (1758-1825) was an American military officer during the Revolution and lived in New York City. This collection includes a newspaper published upon Clarkson's death describing his enlistment in the Revolutionary Army at an early age.

Conkling Family Papers, 1782—1784

The Conkling Family Papers include documents related to the Conkling family of Southold, Suffolk County, Long Island. Among these is correspondence to merchant David Conkling from Jacob and David Landon concerning, among other things, damages incurred during the British occupation of Long Island. Also included is a Brooklyn to New York ferry pass from 1782.

Henry and John Laurens Papers, 1773—1790

Henry Laurens (1724-1792) was a native of Charleston, South Carolina, and served as President of the Continental Congress from 1777 to 1778. This collection includes correspondence and documents related to the Laurens family's involvement in the Revolution.

Henry Onderdonk Papers, 1776—1819

The Henry Onderdonk Papers include transcriptions of Revolutionary-era correspondence and his research on the subject (box 1).

Hubbard Family Papers, 1776—1787

Contains documents supporting Elias Hubbard Sr.'s rise through the ranks as a member of the Kings County Militia. Some documents concern the taking of goods and services from Elias by the Loyalist forces in the early stages of the war (box 1, folder 8) and documents related to Elias Sr.'s involvement throughout the war; specifically, an oath of allegiance to King George and a pass granted to Elias as per his declaration, as well as a proclamation by General William Howe of the British Army offering protection to the Loyalists of Long Island (box 1, folder 10).

James Clinton brigade return, 1778

This collection contains the return of the brigade commanded by Brigadier General James Clinton at White Plains, New York, during the Revolutionary War.

Jeremiah Johnson Manuscript, 1850

Contains the manuscript Recollections of Incidences of the Revolution of the Colonies Occurring in Brooklyn, Collated from the Manuscripts and Conversations of General Jeremiah Johnson, Descriptive of Scenes Which he Personally Witnessed. Johnson’s published works can be found in our book catalog.

John Kissam Papers, 1778—1783

Includes correspondence and orders to Major John Kissam, a Loyalist, concerning the Queens County Militia during the British occupation of New York and Long Island. The subjects relate mostly to the taking of property, authorization for movements about Long Island and to New York, and meeting troop musters.

John Sands Papers, 1775—1776

The papers primarily document John Sands' tenure as a Colonel in General George Washington's army during the American Revolution. The collection includes letters, military orders, and personal documents.

Knowlton Durham Family Papers

Knowlton Durham's application to the Sons of the Revolution, including extensive details on his personal ancestry and its connection to the Revolutionary War (box 1).    

Mrs. Milan Hulbert Collection of Colonial British America and Early United States of America papers, 1698—1791

The Hulbert collection (1698-1846) consists principally of late eighteenth-century documents related to colonial British America. The collection holds papers related to the British military presence in North America, including statistical reports (i.e., returns) for troops for several months in 1760 and documents compiled by Frederick de Deimar in connection with the Corps of Hussars (1779-1781), which he raised for the British during the war (boxes 1 and 2).

Petition of Freeholders and Residents of Kings County to Lord Howe and Sir William Howe, 1777

The collection consists of a ledger and a handwritten transcription of a petition signed by freeholders and other residents of Kings County, New York. The petition is addressed to British naval officer Lord Viscount Richard Howe and Commander-in-Chief of British forces Sir William Howe. It requests the return of horses and wagons confiscated by the British military or compensation for the confiscated property.

Pelletreau Family Papers, 1756—1780

The materials in Box 1 relate to Elias Pelletreau’s (b. 1726) involvement in local militia efforts and his naming as Captain. Also included are the official documents which allowed for the Pelletreau family’s relocation to Connecticut during the British occupation of Long Island. The collection contains a list of Captain Rogers Company of the 60th Regiment, listing ranks, deaths and state of health of members of the militia. Box 2 contains a card index to the entire collection.

William F. Wyckoff Papers

The collection includes The King Family Its Services in National State, and local affairs, which includes the story of Rufus King who studied at Harvard during the war and joined an expedition under General Glover (box 1), letters from generals, and delivery records of cattle (box 2), and one appointment letter to the rank of Lieutenant of the Third Company of Foot in the Third Battalion of Militia (box 4, folder 6).

Middagh Family Papers

One highlight is the articles of agreement between generals Burgoyne (British) and Gates (American) at Saratoga during the Revolutionary War (1772), signed by Burgoyne.

John Stagg Jr. Military Letter, 1792

Unaddressed letter from John Stagg, Jr. to an unidentified military officer requesting that he and his troops prepare for detachment to Trenton, NJ before moving on to headquarters in Pittsburgh, PA.

Landon Family Papers, 1862—1863

Includes correspondence to Colonel W.B. Barton, commander of the New York 48th Regiment in South Carolina, from Confederate commanders regarding movements under flags of truce, as well as other documents related to the family's involvement in the Revolutionary War (box 2).

Archives—Visual Material

These sources include prints, photographs, drawings, and some maps that visually represent the Revolution. Many are conjectural works made by people who did not witness the original events.

The Battle of Long Island: A Bird's Eye View Exhibition Maps and Drawings

This collection consists of a series of drawings used to design a map of the Battle of Long Island for an exhibition held at the Williamsburgh Savings Bank in 1976, part of the United States Bicentennial celebration. The map was designed by George M. Colbert and Lucy Durand Sikes, with additional items including an exhibition pamphlet and poster.  

Battle of Long Island Print

The collection includes a single black-and-white printed illustration showing a scene from the Battle of Long Island. The print dates from circa 1976 and provides a visual depiction of the battle, highlighting key moments and figures involved in the conflict.

Beekman House Lithograph

The Beekman House, also known as Mount Pleasant, was built by James Beekman in 1765 and occupied by the British during the American Revolutionary War. This collection includes two lithographic images of the Beekman House, which was located in Manhattan and visited by George Washington during his presidency.

Brooklyn Photograph and Illustration Collection

Box 15, folder 2: American Revolution—Includes images relating to the treason of Benedict Arnold, Battle of Bunker Hill, reading the Declaration of Independence at White Plains, Washington’s farewell to his officers, Dickersons’ Tavern “Under the Hill,” drafting the Declaration of Independence, barrack building at Camp Upton, and retreat of the British from Concord.  

Box 17, folder 26: Gowanus—Old Stone House; view from Battle Hill.

Box 18, folder 22: Prospect Park—Several color photos of a reenactment of the Battle of Brooklyn.

Brooklyn Slide Collection

This collection contains slide images relating to the Revolutionary War, including photographs of Bicentennial celebrations, maps, and prints. An item-level index is available by request.

Rev. William Ten Eyck Adams Lantern Slide Collection on the Battle of Long Island

This collection contains hand-colored slides featuring both photographs and illustrations. The images include battle scene illustrations, the shore of Bath Beach and Fort Hamilton, street scenes from Bay Ridge through the Prospect Park area to the Fulton Ferry landing, and maps of Brooklyn showing skirmish lines and troop movements. The collection also includes portraits of prominent British and American generals, and depicts many colonial houses, Washington's defensive fortifications, and the arrival and advance of British forces.

Archives—Other Revolutionary War Material

Materials in this category relate to the Revolutionary War but do not fall into the previously defined categories. These sources include journals, letters, manuscripts, artifacts, and other documents.

Brooklyn Historical Society Mixed Manuscript Collection, 1777—1784

Box 1, folder “An Act to Preserve the Freedom and Independence of this State, 1784”  

Box 2, folder “Pardon for treason issued by George III for Israel Howell, 1777” and folder “Proof of Tory Allegiance for the protection of Richard Hudson”

Charles A. Ditmas Collection

Lectures on Old Houses and Families of Kings County contains a section on the Ditmars Homestead which describes the home and inhabitants' relevance during the Revolution.

Daniel M. Tredwell Papers

Kings County in Fact, Legend and Tradition manuscript contains reference to loyalists in the Revolution (box 1).

Deborah Covenhoven orders of permission, 1782

Two orders of permission for Deborah Covenhoven to travel from New Jersey to Long Island and Staten Island.

Lawrence Family Papers

Contains the account books and captain's logs belonging to Joseph Lawrence (b. 1741), a merchant captain from Flushing who operated merchant ships around New York during the Revolutionary period (box 1 and 3).

Nicholas Covenhoven Papers, 1775—1782

This collection includes an account book and correspondence relating to Nicholas Covenhoven’s work with the British commissary assisting American prisoners. Originally a Lieutenant-Colonel in the Kings County militia, he left his troops during the Battle of Brooklyn and was later seen with British officers in Flatbush. Covenhoven was tried and acquitted of treason. 

Frederic G. Mather Papers, 1910—1915

Included are correspondence regarding Mather's writings as well as several disembodied pages from his book The Refugees of 1776 from Long Island to Connecticut.

Sands family papers, 1776

Includes an account that lists livestock, cash, and property taken from Benjamin Sands during the war and an account that records money Benjamin Sands buried in Cow Neck, Long Island to "conceal it from robbers."

Thomas Tredwell Office Memorandum Book, 1782—1788

The office memorandum book of Thomas Tredwell, Judge of the Probate Court of the State of New York, provides a chronology of wills proven by the judge. This document is a genealogical resource, listing names, dates, locations, and military affiliations during the Revolutionary era.

Archives—Commemoration

The commemoration section consists of collections that include physical artifacts, documents, and records commemorating the Revolutionary War, its battles, and the figures involved.

Battle of Long Island 200th Anniversary Proclamations, 1976
The Battle of Long Island 175th Anniversary Proclamation, 1951
Brooklyn Bicentennial Commission Medals, 1976

One medal depicts the Battle of Brooklyn while the other honors the Wallabout Bay prison ship martyrs.

Brooklyn Historical Society Mixed Ephemera Collection

An artificial collection compiled by the former Brooklyn Historical Society’s staff, containing pamphlets, cards, advertisements, and other materials documenting Brooklyn and Long Island from 1770 to the present. Includes programs for the Battle of Long Island Observance Day and pamphlets about the battle.  

Woodhull Monument Association Records, 1848—1849

Documents related to the fundraising efforts of the Woodhull Monument Association, aimed at erecting a monument to General Nathaniel Woodhull, a Revolutionary War officer who died as a prisoner of the British in 1776.

Association for Erecting a Monument to the 11,500 Patriot Prisoners of the British, 1852—1855

One bound volume containing bylaws and minutes of the Brooklyn-based Association.

Brooklyn Ephemera Collection  

This is an artificial composite collection made up of materials from many different sources acquired by the Brooklyn Public Library, dating from 1840 to the present. Some relevant folders are listed below:

Box 9

History: Revolution: Battle of Brooklyn I—Contains a 1976 map depicting Brooklyn at the time of the Battle of Brooklyn, New York Historical Society Battle of Brooklyn Family Guide, Multiple reports of the Battle, and United States Three Cent Commemorative stamp celebrating 175 years since the Battle of Brooklyn.

History: Revolution: Battle of Brooklyn II—Contains only secondary sources all talking about the Battle of Brooklyn and a map of the Battle with special interest in prison ships.

History: Revolution: Battle of Long Island—Contains a multitude of Maryland 400 monument information, a collection of pamphlets describing Brooklyn landmarks at the time of the Revolution, and other Battle of Brooklyn information.  

Box 14

History: Revolution: Battle of Brooklyn (oversized)—Contains a document with nineteen Battle of Brooklyn Landmarks and a map with landmarks.

Battle of Long Island, Maryland Soldiers Memorial Collection, 1869—1957
Brooklyn Historical Society Ephemera Collection

Includes programs for the Battle of Long Island observance day and pamphlets about the battle.  

Everett and Evelyn Ortner Papers and Photographs

Contains secondary sources relating to the Battle of Long Island and its commemoration, including a screenplay and Bicentennial project materials (box 42, 43, 56, and 78).

Centennial Celebration of The Evacuation of the City of New-York by the British, 1883

This collection contains programs, newspapers and periodicals, posters, souvenirs, and committee minutes.

Library—Books and Maps

Books

The following booklists highlight a number of titles in our collection that relate to the Revolutionary War in Brooklyn. Because the Battle of Brooklyn was the only major military action in Brooklyn, it features prominently in books across most of these lists.

Because these lists are not comprehensive, researchers are encouraged to browse the catalog for additional titles. Click the heart beside the book title to create your own booklist (sign in to your account first). As the book collection is non-circulating, titles cannot be placed on hold online. To request books, please contact us at cbhreference@bklynlibrary.org.  

Maps

Maps can be found through our two maps portals (portal 1 and portal 2) with the following keywords:

  • “Revolution”
  • “Revolutionary”
  • “Wallabout Bay”
  • “Battle of Brooklyn”
  • “Battle of Long Island”
  • “Long Island, Battle of, New York, N.Y. , 1776”

Highlights include:

[Detail] Diagram of the Wallabout Bay &c. from 1776 to 1783, [18??], Map No. B A-1776-1783 (18--?)a.Fl, Map Collection, Center for Brooklyn History, Brooklyn Public Library.

Diagram of the Wallabout Bay &c. from 1776 to 1783

  • [18??]
  • Map No. B A-1776-1783 (18--?)a.Fl
  • Covers area of modern-day Brooklyn Navy Yard. Shows properties and names of landowners. Buildings, landmarks (including shore graves), and ships (including British prison ships) shown pictorially.

Plan of New York Island and part of Long Island, showing the position of the American & British armies before, at, & after the Engagement on the Heights, August 27th, 1776

  • [1776]
  • Map No. Rev. War-[1776?].Fl.RA

Plan of Fort Green, and Line of Intrenchments [sic], from the Wallabout to Gowanus Creek with a topographical sketch of the country, by Lieut. James Gadsden of the Engineers.

  • [1776]
  • MAP_1776-06-01
Digital Resources

Blog Posts

Longform posts and Photos of the Week relating to the war can be found in our blog by searching to library website for “Revolutionary War” and “Brooklynology” or “American Revolution” and "Brooklynology”.

Micro-Sites

Educational Resources

Explore the Education department’s Curriculum Library for digital curricula and lesson plans relating to the Revolution.

See especially:

Contact cbheducation@bklynlibrary.org for more information about our educational programs.

Art and Artifacts

Please contact cbhreference@bklynlibrary.org for information about art and artifacts in the collection.

Art

Our collections consist mainly of paintings, drawings, and prints depicting Revolutionary War battles and scenes as imagined by 19th century artists.

Alonzo Chappel, The Battle of Long Island, 1858, M1986.29.1, oil on canvas, 1858, Center for Brooklyn History, Brooklyn Public Library

Artefacts

Our collections include a small number of excavated fragments and family heirlooms donated by Long Island Historical Society members in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Though some can be confidently dated to the Revolutionary War period, it is difficult to confirm origins and use in many cases. The artifact collection also includes memorabilia.

Cannon ball, 1775-1830, M1985.230.1, Center for Brooklyn History, Brooklyn Public Library.

In 1865, Brooklynite Van Brunt Wyckoff presented this cannonball to LIHS. He discovered it with a cache of eighteenth-century ammunition near the block between 16th and 17th Streets and 4th and 5th Avenues (today the Brooklyn neighborhood of Gowanus). When he donated the cannonball, Wyckoff wrote a letter documenting his belief that the British army had lost these artifacts during the Battle of Brooklyn. The artifacts were later unearthed by ploughing. Today, a section of the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway passes over this block. 

1John J. Gallagher, The Battle of Brooklyn, 1776 (Edison, NJ: Castle Books, 2002), 2; Larry Lowenthal, Hell on the East River : British prison ships in the American Revolution (Fleishmanns, N.Y. : Purple Mountain Press 2009), 8—13.

2Samuel W. Pennypacker, “Samuel John Atlee,” The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 2, No. 1 (1878), 80.